My Monterey
Sign in to follow this  
dcamt

Batteries on 242

I am new to boating & have what may be a dumb question.

I have a 2002 242 monterey. It has a perko battery switch and 2 deka starting batteries. Question - if I want to go and anchor somewhere for the day and /or night and use lights and radio, should I leave the selector switch on 'All' or switch to 1 or 2 and try and save one battery as a starting battery. My concern is because both batteries are 'starting' batteries and not 'deep cycle'

Tks

Cam

I am new to boating & have what may be a dumb question.

I have a 2002 242 monterey. It has a perko battery switch and 2 deka starting batteries. Question - if I want to go and anchor somewhere for the day and /or night and use lights and radio, should I leave the selector switch on 'All' or switch to 1 or 2 and try and save one battery as a starting battery. My concern is because both batteries are 'starting' batteries and not 'deep cycle'

Tks

Cam

Hi,

Firstly, I'm assuming you only have 1 motor, the switch / 2nd battery is your house battery, and you have a battery charger

It really depends on what sort of current drain you want to pull out the battery, the rate at which you drain it and how often you do this (once a week, once a month?)

If all you will ever do is a few lights and your stereo then you shouldn't have any problems running a "start" battery as your house battery.

If you started running some big loads - inverters, refrigerators, tv etc. then you might need to re-consider using a "deep-cycle" battery with increased capacity for the house battery.

With the dual switch you describe, there shouldn't be any proplems using a "start" battery for battery1 and a "deep cycle" battery for battery 2 (if you want). The only important thing is they must both be the same "construction" i.e both lead-acid OR both AGM.